No. 3 May 2015

Channel_2PM

Across
1 Roman Catholic swallowing priest’s leftover portion (5)
4 Cleanly turned out in church passage for bikers (5,4)
9 Yield of monster cucumbers once Monarch’s flown (7)
10 King has what may not be needed after exercise of 2 P.M. (4,3)
11 Imply taking in Orange Tip to shelter to no effect (10)
12 Recently made shirt for amphibian (4)
15 Reduces from month to month, ending 1st Sept (7)
16 Sees South African party entering where spirits may be obtained (7)
19 Show contempt for Hans Christian Andersen, say? (7)
22 But goat knocked over a tower! (7)
23 It’s grim up north, hiding native wood (4)
25 Outgoing government leader right to be angry over debts (10)
27 Mike Brady’s eldest scratching head at Auckland Transport backing boat race (7)
28 Connection leaking fluid (7)
29 Bottom protection may be needed during retreat (9)
30 Smooth introduction to salad vegetable (5)
Down
1 Cinders, having danced with prince briefly, is taken back (9)
2 Barges in here for a raise, with no appetite for stealthy openers! (9)
3 Shell, one found by ocean, not old – could be a crab? (10)
4 Lodges complaint about starters – fruit lacks some sodium (7)
5 Coaxes Jo to wear tight laces (7)
6 Like Tango for the head, for example, at first (4)
7 Article deer raised with part of foot (5)
8 Painful feeling in alien country (5)
13 Alas, Swallowtail has no energy (3)
14 Points around nettle to fruit (10)
17 Brown et al following up C2HO2 formulation (9)
18 Spook eats spiritedly, as it were (2,2,5)
20 One head of whanau meeting one tribal group (3)
21 Bliss of camper in rain storm (7)
22 Strong, agile Eddy regularly switched positions (7)
23 Roller worn by topless bunny? That’s less usual (5)
24 Gang leader captured by women surrenders hot rock (5)
26 Do without does? (4)

download (1)

download (2)

“You have a convoluted, tricky and extraordinarily devious mind. I promise not to disclose this to another soul.” – Kevin Ireland

3 thoughts on “No. 3 May 2015

  1. I got all the answers eventually, working from parts of the clues and the letters that I already had. However, there are parts of quite a few clues that I don’t understand. I am asking about these because learning more about the clues will help me to solve your puzzles in the future (I hope). I’m sorry there are so many questions.

    10a – I understand KEY in the answer and JOHN KEY as the complete answer, but how does “king” in the clue relate to the answer?

    28a – How does “leaking fluid” in the clue relate to the answer?

    2d – I understand the answer meaning “stealthy openers” but how does the rest of the clue relate?

    6d – the answer was the only word that would fit with the letters, but how does the clue mean ECHO?

    13d – How does “Swallowtail has no energy” relate to the answer?

    23d – How does “roller worn by topless bunny” relate to the answer?

    Like

    • Hi Morag,

      Thanks for the feedback, and please don’t apologise – I am also learning, and Kevin Ireland’s comment that I “have a convoluted, tricky and extraordinarily devious mind” may turn out to be all too justified.

      I assume you’re familiar with the general idea of cryptic clues, or you wouldn’t have got this far. So without further ado…

      10a – I understand KEY in the answer and JOHN KEY as the complete answer, but how does “king” in the clue relate to the answer?

      King has what may not be needed after exercise of 2 P.M. (4,3) – the “King” is intended as a reference to King John, who is often portrayed as a villain (along with the Sheriff of Nottingham) in the Robin Hood stories. You won’t believe how long I agonised over what was the best way to clue “John” – such a common name, yet everything I thought of was either too obvious or too obscure (“Baptist” was another possibility – plus several that probably shouldn’t be used in a family publication, and certainly not to refer to the Prime Minister!)

      28a – How does “leaking fluid” in the clue relate to the answer?

      28 Connection leaking fluid (7) – “fluid” is an anagram indicator – hence LINKAGE, an anagram of LEAKING

      2d – I understand the answer meaning “stealthy openers” but how does the rest of the clue relate?

      2 Barges in here for a raise, with no appetite for stealthy openers! (9) – the exclamation mark is intended to indicate this is a “convoluted, tricky and extraordinarily devious” clue – in my opinion this is the most difficult one in the puzzle. It breaks down as follows….

      “Barges in here for a raise” is an oblique definition of LOCK – one definition of which is “A segment of a canal enclosed by gates, used for raising and lowering boats between levels.” (Barges being flat bottomed boats used in canals). Hence a lock is a place into which barges go “for a raise”.

      “with no appetite” is a synonym for PICKS – one definition of which is “To eat slowly, sparingly, or by morsels; to nibble.” – i.e. to have no appetite.

      Now that I come to explain it, I can see that that was perhaps a trifle too difficult. Please put down that blunt implement, and let’s move on to the next clue.

      6d – the answer was the only word that would fit with the letters, but how does the clue mean ECHO?

      6 Like Tango for the head, for example, at first (4) – maybe this one could have done with another exclamation mark to indicate that lateral thinking is most definitely needed. It has to be interpreted as follows.
      “the head” is the letter T
      “example at first” is the letter E
      Making those substitutions, the clue now reads “Like Tango for T, for E”
      In the phonetic alphabet, “Tango” is used for T – as when a pilot or policeman says something on the radio like “This is Golf Tango Foxtrot One” – and “Echo” is used for E.

      13d – How does “Swallowtail has no energy” relate to the answer?

      13 Alas, Swallowtail has no energy (3) – The definition part of the clue is “Alas” – “Swallowtail” is the letter W (the tail of SWALLOW) – “no” is O (zero) and energy is E (an abbreviation used, for example, in the famous equation “E = mc2“)

      23d – How does “roller worn by topless bunny” relate to the answer?

      23 Roller worn by topless bunny? That’s less usual (5) – bunny is “HARE” and topless indicates removing the H (since this is a down answer, the “top” is the first letter) – Roller (with a capital R) is slang for a Rolls-Royce car, Rolls-Royce is often abbreviated “RR”, and “worn by” indicates that the “RR” goes around the “ARE” to make “RARER”.

      I have the feeling that I may have been “too clever for my own good” when I devised some of these clues, and if so I apologise – a crossword is supposed to a rare form of competition, in that one party ultimately hopes to lose. Not too easily, because then it’s no fun, but not with too much difficult, either, since that may make it impossible!

      So, I’m still attempting to find the right balance, and I’m very grateful to discover when I’ve failed to achieve it. Thank you!

      Like

  2. Hello Māyā,

    Thanks for the explanations. I should definitely have spotted the anagram in 28a, especially when I had some of the 7 letters. I am familiar with the use of the NATO alphabet in crossword clues (6d) and Tango should have got me thinking in that direction. Also I should have remembered HARE for bunny and RR for Roller for 23d. However, I don’t think I would ever have worked out 2d, but I could use the “stealthy openers” part and having the letters L_C_P_C_S helped a lot. C is very often followed by K (or H).

    I do another crossword every Saturday (which is how I learned about yours). I keep notes to remind me of indicator words that the setter uses and I have now started a similar list for yours. I have added “fluid” for an anagram indicator and also your use of the word “regularly” in 22d.

    Morag

    Like

Leave a Reply

